Paul McCartney and Elvis Costello Unreleased Duet “Twenty Fine Fingers” Surfaces [Listen]

first_imgBack in 1989, Paul McCartney released Flowers in the Dirt, an album that featured guest spots from Elvis Costello, David Gilmour of Pink Floyd, and famed Beatles producer George Martin. Costello and McCartney teamed up on 18 tracks, four of which actually made the album (“My Brave Face,” “Don’t Be Careless Love,” “That Day Is Done” and “You Want Her Too”). The album is getting a reissue, and some of the demo tracks, that have previously gone unreleased, will finally see an official release, including “Twenty Fine Fingers.”In a statement with regards to the reissue, McCartney explained, “The demos are red hot off the skillet and that’s why we wanted to include them on this boxed set….What’s great about these songs is that they’ve just been written. So there’s nothing more hot off the skillet as I say. So that was the kind of great instant thing about them. I hadn’t listened to them in ages but when I did I knew we had to put them out. We made a little tape of them and sent them to Elvis, who loved them too. We said we should put out an EP or something and now the moment’s finally arrived.”The release will be available in a three CD/1 DVD set, a two CD set and a double vinyl LP, and will feature a number of previously unreleased demo recordings. The album reissue is currently available for pre-order here. Take a listen to “Twenty Fine Fingers” below:[via Rolling Stone]last_img